Uma Shri Bharti (born on 3 May, 1959 in a Lodhi Rajput family) is an Indian politician and has been the Minister for Water Resources, River Development and Ganga of India. She has been the Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh. She was raised by Gwalior Empress Vijayaraje Scindia. She played a leading role in the Ram Janmabhoomi Movement with Sadhvi Ritambhara. During this time her slogan was "Shree Ramlall Hum Aayenge, Mandir Wahi Banayenge" (Shree Ramlalla will come home and the temple will be built there).

She was associated with the Bharatiya Janata Party in youth. She contested the first ever Lok Sabha election in 1984, but lost. She was elected MP from Khajuraho parliamentary constituency in the Lok Sabha elections of 1989 and retained this seat in 1991, 1996 and 1998. In 1999, she was elected Member of Parliament from Bhopal seat. In the Vajpayee government, she worked in various state level and cabinet level departments like Human Resource Development, Tourism, Youth Affairs and Sports and finally coal and mine.

In the Madhya Pradesh assembly elections of 2003, under her leadership the BJP received a three-fourth majority and became the Chief Minister. August 2004, she resigned from the post of Chief Minister, when a warrant was issued against her for the Hubli riots of 1994.

Early life

Uma Bharti was born in a place called Dunda of Tikamgarh district. Her education took place till the sixth grade. She was fearless since her childhood. The ability to show courage and leadership was seen from childhood as well. She belongs to the Lodhi community.

Political dissent

After being criticized of L.K. Advani on November 2004, she was sacked from the BJP. In 2005 her dismissal was removed and she got a place in the party's parliamentary board. This year she withdrew from the party because her rival Shivraj Singh Chauhan was made the Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh. During this time, she formed a separate party named Janshakti Party.

On June 7, 2011, she returned to the BJP again. In order to improve the party's position in Uttar Pradesh, she launched the "Save Ganga" campaign.

In the Uttar Pradesh assembly elections held in March 2012, she was elected as the member of Assembly from Charbari seat of Mahoba district. She was elected MP of 16th Lok Sabha from Jhansi Lok Sabha constituency in the year 2014. In the Modi Cabinet, she became the Minister for Water Resources, River Development and Ganga of India.

Different terms

Uma Bharti stayed in the following posts:

  • 1988: Madhya Pradesh BJP Vice President
  • 1989: MP from Khajuraho
  • 1990: Member of the Consultative Committee in the Ministry of Agriculture
  • 1991: MP from Khajuraho again
  • 1991-1993: P.A.C. member
  • 1993: President of BJYM
  • 1996: MP from Khajuraho again
  • 1996-97: Member of Science and Technology, Forest and Environment Committee
  • 1998: MP from Khajuraho again
  • 1998-99: Minister of State for the Cabinet, Ministry of Human Resource Development
  • 1999: MP from Bhopal
  • October 13, 1999 - 2 February 2000: Cabinet Minister of State (Independent Charge), Tourism
  • 7 November 2000 - 25 August 2002: Cabinet Minister, Youth Affairs & Sports
  • August 26 - 2002-29, January 2003: Cabinet minister, coal and quarry
  • December 8, 2003 - 23 August 2004: Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh
  • 2012: MLA in Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly
  • 2014: India's Water Resources, River Development and Ganga Cleaning Minister

"Uma Bharti" is at the 3rd Position in this list.

Uma Bharti
Total Votes: 152
Votes received:7
Up votes:5
Down votes:2
71% Up votes
29% Down votes
Comments on Uma Bharti