Norway - Kingdom of Norway

The Kingdom of Norway or Norge Kongeriket (Noreg) in Norwegian, is a Nordic country on the western end of the Scandinavian Peninsula bordering Sweden, Finland and Russia. The beaches in the North Atlantic Ocean and Barents Sea are the locations of famous fords. Svalbard and Jan Mayen are under Norwegian sovereignty based on the Svalbard Treaty. Norway has an island called Bouvet which is located on the Atlantic Ocean. The total area of Norway is 385.525 km² and a population of 5.3 million (2018 estimate). Norway is the second lowest population density in Europe. Norway has extensive petroleum reserves, natural gas, minerals, seafood, fresh water. Norway is also the largest per capita producer of oil and natural gas outside the Middle East.

Etymology: Norway is usually called Norge Kongeriket (Kingdom of Norway) in the writings of Bokmål, while Noreg Cricket in Nynorsk's writing. Old Norwegians usually refer to Norway as Noregr, and people in mid-training are Nor (th) vegia. Some medieval texts mention the myth of king Norr, son of Snær (personification of snow), descendants of Fornjót, legendary ruler of Finland. However, it is generally assumed the name comes from an Old Norwegian, meaning "norðvegr" (north of the road). Norway also has the terms austrvegr "land to the east" (Russia), vestrvegr "land to the west" (England and Ireland) and suðrvegr "land to the south" (Mediterranean).

History: The Viking Age was characterized by expansion and emigration by Viking sea explorers. Traditionally, Harald Fairhair (Harald Hårfagre) united with them in 872 AD after the Battle of Hafrsfjord in Stavanger, thus becoming the first king of the united Norway. The Harald region is mainly the coast of South Norway.

Harald Fairhair ruled with strong hands, and according to history, many Norwegians left the country to live in Iceland, the Faroe Islands, Green Land, and parts of Great Britain and Ireland. Today's Irish cities such as Dublin, Limerick and Waterford were established by Norwegian and Danish settlers.

Geography: Norway is directly adjacent to the North Sea in the southwest and the Skagerrak Islands in the south, the Norwegian Sea in the west, and the Barents Sea in the northeast. In the east, Norway is directly adjacent to Sweden, Finland and Russia. The highest point in Norway is Galdhøpiggen with an altitude of 2,469 meters above sea level.

Climate: Climate in Norway is a temperate climate, especially in coastal areas caused by the influence of the Gulf Stream.

The Norwegian landscape is generally rough and mountainous, mostly covered by glaciers, and has a coastline of more than 83,000 km which is limited by fords. The northern part of the country is also known as the Midnight Sun Land because it is located at the northernmost tip of the earth, where every summer, the sun never sinks and in the winter, the sun never appears at all.

Politics: Norway is a constitutional monarchy that uses a system of parliamentary government. Its parliament, Stortinget, has 169 members (previously 165, then added 4 people on 12 September 2005) who were chosen for a 4-year term. This parliament is divided into legislative voting, Odelsting and Lagting. Except for a number of things, Storting functions as a unicameral parliament.

"Norway - Kingdom of Norway" is at the 1st Position in this list.

Norway - Kingdom of Norway
Total Votes: 20127
Votes received:206
Up votes:206
Down votes:0
100% Up votes
0% Down votes
Comments on Norway - Kingdom of Norway