Internet Explorer

Windows Internet Explorer (formerly known as Microsoft Internet Explorer, abbreviated IE or MSIE) is a free web browser from Microsoft, and is included in every release of the Microsoft Windows operating system since 1995. At first, Internet Explorer was released as part of the Plus package, for Windows 95 (UK) at that time.

Internet Explorer has been used extensively since 1999, covering 95% of all web browser usage during 2002 to 2003 with Internet Explorer 5 and Internet Explorer 6. Over time, it lost market share since it was involved with the web browser competition, and now includes 55, 92%. Microsoft has spent up to 100 million dollars per year to develop Internet Explorer in the 1990s, with 1,000 people working on it.

Since its first release, Microsoft has added features and technologies such as the appearance of basic tables (in version 1.5), XMLHttpRequest (UK) (in version 5) that helped create web pages, and Internationalized Domain Names (in version 7) that allow websites that using non-Latin character addresses (such as Kanji characters) typed normally in the Internet Explorer address bar.

History: Internet Explorer 1 The first version of Internet Explorer was released on August 16, 1995.

Internet Explorer 2 was released for Windows 95, Windows NT 3.5 and Windows NT 4.0 on November 22, 1995.

Internet Explorer 3 was released on August 13, 1996.

Internet Explorer 4 was released in September 1997.

Internet Explorer 5 was released on March 18, 1999.

Internet Explorer 6 was released on August 27, 2001.

Internet Explorer 7 was released on October 18, 2006.

Internet Explorer 8 was released on March 19, 2009.

Internet Explorer 9 is an Internet Explorer web browser from Microsoft which was released to the public on March 14, 2011. IE9 supports several CSS3 properties, and increases JavaScript performance. IE9 also supports HTML5 audio and video tags, as well as Web Open Font Format. Microsoft launched IE9 as a new version that is not tied to the launch schedule for the new Windows version, unlike before. The specification requirements for Internet Explorer 9 are the Windows 7 operating system, Windows Server 2008 R2, Windows Vista Service Pack 2 or Windows Server 2008 SP2 with the Platform Update feature. Windows XP and earlier versions are not supported. IE9 is the latest version of Internet Explorer that supports Windows Vista, Internet Explorer 10 will only be supported by Windows 7 and Windows 8.

Internet Explorer 10 (IE10) is the latest web browser from Microsoft. This version is a replacement for Internet Explorer 9. Internet Explorer 10 was released on April 12, 2011.

Internet Explorer 11 (IE11) is the latest web browser from Microsoft. Internet Explorer 11 was released on October 17, 2013 for Windows 8.1 and November 7, 2013 for Windows 7.


कुछ बात है कि हस्ती, मिटती नहीं हमारी। सदियों रहा है दुश्मन, दौर-ए-ज़माँ हमारा।

+ Add your comment

World's Best Web Browser Ever | List of all Internet Browsers Rank by Users

"Internet Explorer" is at the 5th position in this list.

Votes: 202/10